top of page

Write Despite the Disapproval


About a month ago I started an internship at the Fort Wayne Children’s Zoo. A lot of people were surprised that a professional writing and public relations student would be working at a zoo. As a writer, I frequently get asked discouraging questions:


What can you even do with that major?


Isn’t writing a dying trade?


Are you just going to write novels? That doesn’t sound like it will make you much money.


Someone once even told me that I don’t need to worry about finding a writing job because “McDonald’s is always hiring.” Another just laughed in my face when I said what I was studying. You get the idea.


The truth is, good writers are needed at pretty much any type of business you can think of. Every email, newsletter, social media post, advertisement, and pitch needs proper grammar and well thought out content. Including zoos.


The people I work under at the zoo are incredible writers, thinkers, and communicators. They have taught me so much about professionalism and efficiency as well as all kinds of interesting insights into the animal kingdom. I’ve written press releases, children’s flash fiction, and blog posts and I’ve even talked to the local press about our events. These opportunities have given me more confidence in myself and more experience in the field I want to end up in.


I wish more people would see the value of studying writing, but there’s not much I can do about that. What I can do, though, is keep learning and growing so I can put my knowledge to good use. And you should too!


If you’re passionate about writing, start exploring your options. Try every genre, every style, every topic, every platform. Whichever one makes you feel accomplished and excited to continue is the one you should pursue.


I used this method and realized that journalism and creative nonfiction were the most interesting to me. Then I went on the hunt for an internship and stumbled across the Fort Wayne Children’s Zoo. I’ve been able to write in every method I enjoy and stretch myself in areas I'm not as experienced in. I get to combine my love of writing with my love of helping children learn and inspiring curiosity and appreciation for nature in those around me.


Think about what you’re passionate about. Is it nature? Video games? Scripture? Animals? Sustainability? Fashion? There are writing jobs in all of those subjects and so many more if you just look for them. Don’t let people’s judgement get in the way of your talents and interests. Make it work and prove them wrong.



 

bottom of page