top of page

Old Clothes, New Outfits


If you spend any time in a girl's dorm building, you will inevitably hear one of us say, "Ugh! I have nothing to wear!!" as we stare at a closet overflowing with clothes and shoes. To make it worse, more times than not, we will end up putting on one of the same outfits that we always wear.


This week, I got really tired of this cycle and I decided to try something new. For seven days, I only let myself wear new combinations of my old clothes that I'd never tried before. I didn't buy any new pieces and I didn't borrow anything from my suitemates.


I not only had fun with this challenge, but I discovered some new favorite outfits and got rid of several shirts that I realized I never wear for a reason. I challenge you to do the same and see what looks you discover! If you do try it, scroll to the bottom of my page and send me a message about how it went.


Below are the results of my experiment and a brief description of each. (All pictures taken by Julia Frontz and Jessica Cutter)


 

Day 1: Sunday


  • Brown "Dad" Sweater: $2-ish Goodwill find (owned for 1 year)

  • Black Leather Skirt with Brown Buttons: From Forever 21 (owned for almost 2 years)

  • White Boot Socks: (owned for so long, I can't remember when or where I got them)

  • Black Pointed Toe Boots: Madden Girl from T.J. Maxx (owned for 2 months)

  • Favorite Part: I like the casual and baggy sweater mixed with a fancy skirt and shoe.

  • Least Favorite Part: I should have worn cream colored socks instead of pure white.



Day 2: Monday




  • Black Dress with White, Pink, and Blue Flower Print: SO from Kohl's (owned for so long, I can't remember when I got it)

  • Light Wash High Waisted Boyfriend Jeans: Denim Co. from Penney's in Ireland, otherwise known as Primark (owned for 5 months)

  • Pink Sparkly Socks: From H&M (owned for 5 months)

  • White Sneakers: Nautica from T.J. Maxx (owned for 2 years)




  • Favorite Part: I love that the top is actually a dress and that no one noticed all day. I also love the back with the low V and the keyhole above my waist.

  • Least Favorite Part: I didn't like that my pant leg came above my sock when I sat down but I couldn't get it to the right length.




Day 3: Tuesday




  • Black Short-Sleeve Crop Top: gaze from T.J. Maxx (owned for 7 months)

  • Silver Hoops: From T.J. Maxx (owned for 2 years)

  • Red Sweater with Black Leather Sleeves: From maurices (owned for so long, I can't remember when I bought it)

  • Dark Wash Skinny Jeans: Mudd (owned for 2 years)

  • Black Pointed Toe Boots: Madden Girl from T.J. Maxx (owned for 2 months)

  • Black Belt with Silver Buckle: From 5 Below (owned for 7 months)







  • Favorite Part: I like the combination of the sweater material and the leather. (I don't know why I never wear this!!)

  • Least Favorite Part: This is not a very comfortable outfit.










Day 4: Wednesday



  • Black Henley Shirt: Faded Glory from Walmart (owned for 2 years, lost for 1 year)

  • Light Wash High Waisted Boyfriend Jeans: Denim Co. from Penney's in Ireland, otherwise known as Primark (owned for 5 months)

  • Gray Sweater Socks: someone in my dorm was giving them away new (owned for 1 month)

  • Light Blue Sneakers: Adidas (owned for 8 months)

  • Gray Cheetah Print Headband: (owned for 7 years)









  • Favorite Part: The Henley shirt is really comfortable.

  • Least Favorite Part: I don't like the way the socks look with the shoes, but I just wanted to be comfy/have a lazy day.









Day 5: Thursday



  • Over-sized Gray Sweater with Colorful Specs: Faded Glory from Walmart (owned for a week)

  • Dark Wash Skinny Jeans: Mudd (owned for 2 years)

  • Platform Green/Brown Lace Up Boots: Primark from Penney's in Ireland (owned for 5 months)

  • Favorite Part: I love these boots, especially with skinny jeans.

  • Least Favorite Part: I had never worn this sweater before, but I disliked it on myself so much that I gave it to my friend at the end of the day.


Day 6: Friday




  • Black Long Sleeve Body Suit: From H&M (owned for 5 months)

  • White with Black Pinstripe Short Sleeve Button Up: Liz Claiborne from JCPenney (owned for 8 months)

  • Dark Wash Skinny Jeans: Mudd (owned for 2 years)

  • All Black High Top Sneakers: Converse (owned for 11 months)



  • Favorite Part: I love black and white pieces with blue jeans.

  • Least Favorite Part: The white shirt would rise up if I moved too much, which was slightly annoying.


Day 7: Saturday






  • Gray and Black Striped Thin Hooded Poncho: Pink Republic (owned for 4 years)

  • Over-sized Jean Jacket with Frayed Edges and Black and Red Plaid in Lining: Plain Pockets (owned by my family since at least the 90s)

  • Black Low-Rise Holey Jeans: From Garage (owned for 3 years)

  • White Sneakers: Nautica from T.J. Maxx (owned for 2 years)

  • Favorite Part: I'm addicted to striped and I love this color scheme.

  • Least Favorite Part: Low-Rise jeans are just not as comfortable has high waisted jeans.


 

bottom of page